29 stations to receive funding through the Community Radio Fund of Canada’s Radiometres Program

The CRFC has selected 29 community and campus stations that will receive funding through the 2021-2022 Radiometres program. We are impressed by the diversity of projects and are excited to see them come to life. 

The Radiometres program was initially started in 2012 and was designed to support a wide range of projects which focus on developing and supporting Canadian content. Specifically, Radiometres supports projects which focus on access to local news and information, supporting community music and expression, transitioning to emerging ways to distribute programming and capacity building at community radio stations.

Ryerson Radio, CJRU is excited to continue to connect with their community by using the funding to produce Radio Everywhere: A Community Radio Series

With everything that’s happened in the past year plus, we see the vital role that campus and community radio can play in our communities. Radio Everywhere: a community radio series is an opportunity to continue to grow our relationships and support the creation of radio pieces produced by the community.” 

Elissa Matthews, Station Manager CJRU Toronto 

Other projects include an Indigenous radio documentary produced by CFUV, a campus radio station in Victoria, BC. The project, Documenting Decolonization 2, will expand on their Indigenous spoken word and music content. 

CHRY in North York will celebrate young female BIPOC artists. This program will work to reduce barriers to broadcasting and create accessible opportunities for underrepresented artists. 

This is only a small sample of the exceptional projects which will receive funding. The CRFC wants to acknowledge and thank commercial radio stations who, through their contributions to Canadian Content Development, provide the critical funding which makes this program possible.

To learn more about the Radiometres program and the stations involved visit https://crfc-fcrc.ca/radiometres/

The stations selected for the 2021-2022 Radiometres program include; 

Trent Radio (CFFF) Peterborough, Ontario

Radio Queen’s University (CFRC) Kingston, Ontario

Radio Huronie Fm Communautaire Inc. (CFRH) Penetanguishene, Ontario

Vancouver Co-operative Radio (CFRO) Vancouver, British Columbia

CFUR Radio Society (CFUR) Prince George, Colombie-Britannique

The University of Victoria Student Radio Society (CFUV) Victoria, British Columbia

Small Town Radio (CFWN) Cobourg, Ontario

Radio Malaspina Society (CHLY) Nanaimo, British Columbia

La Coopérative radiophonique de Toronto Inc (CHOQ) Toronto, Ontario

Canadian Centre for Civic Media and Arts Development (CHRY) North York, Ontario

Smithers Community Radio Society (CICK) Smithers, British Columbia

Radio coopérative de Coaticook (CIGN) Coaticook, Québec

Société radio communautaire Victoria (CILS) Victoria, British Columbia

CINB-FM Communications Inc. (CINB) Rothesay, New Brunswick

Communication du versant nord (CISM FM) inc. Montréal, Québec

UFV Campus and Community Radio Society (CIVL) Abbotsford, British Columbia

Médias ténois (CIVR) Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Amherst Island Radio Broadcasting Inc. (CJAI) Stella, Ontario

Student Media, University of Windsor (CJAM) Windsor, Ontario

Concordia Student Broadcasting Corporation (CJLO) Montreal, Québec

Prince Edward County Radio Corporation (CJPE) Picton, Ontario

Radio Ryerson Inc. (CJRU) Toronto, Ontario

University of Calgary Student Radio Society (CJSW) Calgary, Alberta

Radio Communautaire Kapnord inc. (CKGN) Kapuskasing, Ontario

Radio Basse Ville (CKIA) Québec 

Radio Miracadie inc (CKMA) Miramichi, New Brunswick

Coopérative Radio-Halifax-Métro limité (CKRH) Halifax, Nova Scotia

Société CKRP Radio Rivière-la-paix (CKRP) Falher, Alberta

CKXU Radio Society (CKXU) Lethbridge, Alberta